Skip to content

There’s a New Intern at SECCA

January 10, 2013

Hello all, my name is Johnna Henry, and I’m excited to be working at SECCA as an intern for the month of January. I hail from Jackson, Mississippi and am a sophomore at Hollins University in Roanoke, VA: a small women’s college right off the Blue Ridge Parkway.  It’s my first time in Winston-Salem and SECCA, and I have really felt at home on this beautiful campus, though it’s only my second day here.

I’m an Art History and Creative Writing double major, and the more I study both fields, the more I find that they go hand in hand. I’m looking forward to utilizing both of my passions over the month.  I’m not quite as well versed in contemporary art as I am with previous art historical periods, but a few contemporary artists I enjoy include William Kentridge, Cai Guo-Qiang, Kiki Smith, and Wolfgang Laib.  All of these artists employ various (and strange) media in their art making processes—from charcoal and gunpowder, to pollen and wax—and their facility with these media is extremely powerful.

From what I know about contemporary art, I love that the boundaries of art are constantly being stretched while simultaneously leaving us with an important message.  I hope to continue to discover more of this over the next month. I’ve been intrigued by contemporary art since high school but have yet to come across it in depth in my Art History education. Luckily for me, there are three great exhibitions that I can study and write about: Anne Kesler Shields: 50-Year Retrospective, Vibha Galhotra: Metropia, and Frank Selby: Misunderstanding, so watch out for some writing on these three fantastic, thought-provoking artists!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

