Skip to content

The New Girl…

September 28, 2011

Hello, there! My name is Katie Wolf and I am the new intern here at SECCA.  I am a junior at Wake Forest University where I major in Studio Art and double minor in Art History and English.  I am really passionate about the arts and I plan to make my career in art management.  As a student of Wake Forest, I have been conditioned to seek and obtain any and all work experience that I can get before graduation and being thrust into the big-bad REAL WORLD.  Luckily, through the Art Department, I am able to intern at SECCA for 10 hours a week between my classes on campus.  I was thrilled, and a little nervous, to start working for such a big gallery but it was easy to fall into place and to make SECCA a little slice of home.

My very first day proved to be all that I hoped for as I was immediately submerged in all-things SECCA as everyone was getting ready to install our newest exhibition by a Mexican-American artist named Margarita Cabrera.  I find new things to love at SECCA every day, and I have grown to love my daily 2-hour escape from the sometimes stressful environment on campus.  It is always a joy to be around art, and I am thankful that I have the opportunity to learn more about the “behind the scenes” of how the art world works.

One project that I am very excited about is going to be a series of videos of my own reactions to exhibitions and other events going on here at SECCA.  As a barely-20-year-old college student/sorority girl/art history nerd, I hope my opinions provide a unique perspective to what SECCA has to offer. Here is my first installment on the new exhibition by Margarita Cabrera.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

