Skip to content

Past and Present

April 15, 2011

One of my favorite things about SECCA’s campus is the mixing of the traditional architecture of the Hane’s home with the modern style of our galleries and the McChesney Scott Dunn Auditorium. This is actually a subject I intended to write about much earlier in the year, but I think that it also presents an interesting way to reflect on my experiences here at SECCA as my internship draws to a close.

To me, the original Hane’s house, built at about the same time as my family’s home in Georgia, represents the “history” that built the foundation of who I am today: my family and friends, experiences and education, and the numerous other factors that have helped me understand who I am as an individual and who I hope to become as a professional. Without the people, places, and possibilities from my past, I would not have discovered my love for fine arts that has been deepened during my time at SECCA.

While understanding the historical framework that supports a building is important, looking at areas of new growth illustrates the possibilities that lie ahead, as well as the present challenges to be met. My experiences working in SECCA’s galleries, adjusting lights on the catwalk above the auditorium, learning new sound technologies, and presenting events and programs for the community have tested my knowledge and skills, challenging me to step beyond the realm of familiarity to be part of beautiful, unique, rewarding experiences and interactions.

Although the differences in atmosphere between the two sections of our campus are significant, SECCA brings together the history of the Winston-Salem of the past with a hope for new understanding and community through so many different events, experiences, programs, and exhibitions. While leaving my family, friends, and everything familiar to re-locate to a completely new city for four months is honestly one of the most challenging things I have ever done, SECCA has truly become “home” for me during my time here. I have been given many opportunities to learn and grow through the unique pairing of new challenges and experiences with subjects and issues that have always been important to me. My time at SECCA has been so much more that I could have ever imagined and while I know that returning to Georgia soon will be difficult, I will always feel a connection with such an incredible, engaging agency and the welcoming community around us. A heartfelt “thank you” to everyone who has been a part of my wonderful internship experience and let me know if you’re ever down in Athens, Georgia!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

