Skip to content

Papering The Town Green

April 4, 2011

During my internship at SECCA I have had the opportunity to be involved with so many experiences and programs that it’s hard to keep up with them all. In fact, when people ask me what I’m working on, I usually just say “a little bit of everything” rather than jumping into the hour-long (+) conversation it would take to accurately describe all the wonderful things I’ve had the chance to do. However, since day 1 of my internship there has been a certain project/task that I’ve always been a part of: postering. In fact, on the very first day of my internship, my supervisor and our Curator of Education Michael Christiano, suggested I spend the afternoon downtown getting a feel for the city I would be calling “home” for the next few months. After a few almost-wrong turns down one-way streets, I finally found a parking spot and stepped out into downtown Winston for the first time.

Although I can’t say that I enjoyed running around in the chilly, dreary weather of January and February, I really do like getting to see all the unique galleries, restaurants, shops, and people of downtown Winston (and sometimes Greensboro) on my postering adventures. Now that spring has (finally) sprung, I enjoy putting up posters for our events even more. A few Fridays back, I loaded up my car with plenty of double sided tape and a box of posters for our upcoming event “An Evening With The Greenhorns” and hit the city on one of the first real warm days of spring. It was so nice to get out of the office to enjoythe beautiful weather and see all the great things going on downtown while getting the word out about our unique event.

Join us on April 13th for an evening full of food, community, and culture as we celebrate the premiere screening of “The Greenhorns,” a documentary following the collaborative initiative as they travel cross-country to encourage the critical meeting of minds, bodies, and land by supporting the development of young and developing farmers. SECCA is pleased to partner with Krankies Coffee, Elsewhere Collaborative, Bouwerie, Dogtown Pizza, and Beta Verde to offer exciting activities in conjunction with the film screening, such as a cocktail hour with regional concoctions and an interactive seed swap. A delicious supper of hand-made pizza pies, green salad, and slow-cooked beans will be provided before the screening and director Severine Von Tscharner Fleming will host a Q&A session after the film. All-inclusive tickets are only $10 for non-members and just $8 for SECCA members. We hope you’ll join us for this exciting evening of food, fun, and festivities. As always, you can check our event page for information and to pre-order ticket or visit the Facebook event page as well. Hope to see you next Wednesday!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

