Skip to content

Introductions…

January 25, 2011

Hi all! This is the first of (hopefully) many posts in a series I’m titling “SECCA Through The Eyes of An Intern.” Hi! My name is Mercy Montgomery and I just finished the first of my fifteen weeks here at SECCA. I am a student at the University of Georgia and this internship is the last step before my graduation this May. I grew up in and around Athens, Georgia with my parents and two sisters exploring the unique music scene, visiting the Georgia Museum of Art, and soaking up all that the Classic City has to offer. I love Athens dearly, but felt it was time to try something new, so I applied for an internship at SECCA and here I am!

I have been lucky enough to be a part of many performance pieces as a dancer and as a member of the University of Georgia Redcoat Band Flagline. As much as I enjoy these experiences for what they are, much of the meaning would be lost if I had not been able to share them with others. This realization of the importance of sharing art was one of the main reasons I was attracted to SECCA.  In the short amount of time that I’ve been here, I have seen first-hand their commitment to community, creativity, and connection through art. Events like our upcoming Talk @ SECCA with local artist Glenda Wharton, The Winston-Salem Shuffle in February, and our Crossroads concert series provide the opportunity to connect with local artists, individuals from across the country, and friends through shared experiences of art. As always, you can find more information about these events, our exhibits, and other opportunities to explore the intersection of art and you on our main website.

One of my most favorite quotes from John Muir sums up how I hope to impact SECCA and the community of Winston-Salem during my time here: “when one tugs at a single thing in nature, he finds it attached to the rest of the world.” Although I will be interning for only fifteen weeks, I hope that my actions and contributions during this time will extend to support and strengthen this incredible organization and the community we serve.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

